Planning, programming and assessing languages 7–10

Supporting you in implementing language syllabuses in Years 7 to 10.

In NSW secondary schools, languages is a key learning area. Through learning languages, students engage in purposeful communication and reflect on the heritage, culture and identity of themselves and others.

The study of one or more additional languages strengthens literacy skills in a student’s first language, and supports participation in the global community.

Language study in Stages 4 and 5

The study of 100 hours of one language over one continuous 12-month period is mandatory between Years 7–10, but preferably in Years 7–8 (Stage 4).

In Stage 5, students may also elect a language course. Studying a language course in Stage 5 extends students' ability to communicate and strengthen their understanding of the nature of language, culture and the processes of communication.

Students may continue with their chosen language or languages in Stage 6 and/or commence the study of a new language.

Modern Languages K–10 Syllabus (2022)

The Modern Languages K–10 Syllabus was published in 2022 on the NSW Curriculum (NESA) site.

In 2024, implementation commenced in schools, with 7–10 mandatory 100-hour courses and new elective courses.

Classes which commenced an elective course in 2023 should continue to use the existing language-specific syllabus until the end of 2024. Learn more about the Modern Languages K–10 Syllabus on our information for school leaders web section.

Language-specific resources

The department is currently developing language-specific support across a range of languages 7–10, to support the Modern Languages K–10 Syllabus.

Staffroom posters

Transforming classrooms through the Modern Languages K–10 Syllabus poster (PDF 876.6 KB) – use these to support discussions and lessons observation within your faculty.


All languages syllabuses are located on NSW Curriculum (NESA)


  • Teaching and learning


  • All high schools
  • Classroom teachers
  • Educational Standards
  • Languages
  • Teaching and learning
  • Web page
  • Year 10
  • Year 7
  • Year 8
  • Year 9

Business Unit:

  • Educational Standards
Return to top of page Back to top