Effective reading: Fluency

Purpose

This face to face professional learning provides K-2 teachers with an opportunity to explore the practical application of the evidence-based teaching of reading.  

Focus will be dedicated to exploring the what, why and how of fluency and it’s important role in effective reading instruction. Teachers will be given opportunities to gain an understanding of how fluency can be explicitly taught, and the strong relationship to the other components of effective reading instruction.  

Who should participate?

K-2 teachers.

Mode of delivery

Face-to-face learning.

Content

Session 1: What is fluency?

Session 2: Why is fluency important?

Session 3: How does explicit instruction impact on student learning?

Session 4: How can fluency be embedded into practice?

Completing this course will help you to:

  • explore the evidence-based research related to learning to read
  • develop an understanding of elements of the reading process
  • use the teaching and learning cycle to support decisions about what students need to learn
  • understand the core components of reading fluency and why they are important to developing automaticity of word recognition for comprehension of texts
  • understand why the explicit and systematic teaching of fluency skills is essential for effective reading instruction
  • consider further teaching strategies and considerations for supporting student to development into fluent readers

Register for ‘Effective reading: Fluency’ via MyPL (Course code RG11018 )

Dates and locations

For enquiries about local events, contact

Metropolitan North

Michael.Myerscough@det.nsw.edu.au

Metropolitan South

Sherrie.Meyers@det.nsw.edu.au

Regional North

vicki.york@det.nsw.edu.au or Christine.Glennhed@det.nsw.edu.au

Regional South

Giselle.Coltman@det.nsw.edu.au

Rural North

Jillian.Dutton@det.nsw.edu.au or lynne-maree.hugginson@det.nsw.edu.au

Rural South and West

South - Kerrie.Vogele@det.nsw.edu.au
West -Leone.Dewhurst@det.nsw.edu.au

NESA Registered Professional Development

Completing 'Effective reading: Fluency' (course code RG11018) will contribute 5 hours of NESA Registered PD addressing 2.5.2, and 6.2.2 from the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers towards maintaining Proficient Teacher Accreditation in NSW.

Return to top of page Back to top