Year 7, Unit 4 – additive thinking

This unit addresses content from the focus areas of Computation with integers, Fractions, decimals and percentages, and Algebraic techniques.

The lessons and sequences in this program of learning are designed to allow students to explore addition and subtraction of integers, fractions, and algebraic terms. A variety of visual representations are developed as tools that students can rely on within this unit and beyond.

The Mathematics K–10 Syllabus (2023) is to be taught in Years 3 to 10 from 2024.

Detailed implementation information including key features and resources is available on the Mathematics syllabus development page (NESA).

A 12-lesson unit for Year 7 with resources.


Additive thinking (DOCX 161 KB)

Lesson 1 – banking troubles

Banking troubles (DOCX 395 KB)

Lesson 2 – bonuses and penalties

Lesson 3 – addition of integers using vectors

Lesson 4 – subtraction of integers using vectors

Lesson 5 – same same

Lesson 6 – why fractions with different denominators don’t align

Why fractions with different denominators don’t align (DOCX 106 KB)

Lesson 7 – seeing double

Lesson 8 – how to deal with different denominators

Lesson 9 – which numbers go here?

Lesson 10 – inverse journeys

Lesson 11 – stepping through unknowns

Lesson 12 – laying the foundations of algebra

Syllabus outcomes and content descriptors from Mathematics K–10 Syllabus © NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) for and on behalf of the Crown in right of the State of New South Wales, 2023.

Return to top of page Back to top