Students develop communication skills, learn about languages as systems and explore the relationship between language and culture.

In NSW primary schools, the study of a language is optional. In NSW secondary schools, languages is a key learning area. The study of a language is compulsory for 100 hours in one school year in Stage 4 or 5, but preferably in Stage 4. In Stage 6, a wide variety of languages is offered in NSW schools, catering for beginning students to background speakers.

Important updates

The NSW Department of Education has completed a Review of foreign government/foreign organisation support for language education in NSW public schools.

Access the full report (PDF 1944.15KB).

As a result of this review, the department's agreement with the Confucius Institute has concluded.

Enquiries relating to the teaching of the Mandarin language should be directed to Elisabeth Robertson, Coordinator, Languages and Culture, who can be contacted by email at or phone 7814 3023.

Return to top of page Back to top