Year 9 – sample scope and sequence

A sample scope and sequence that is aligned to the English K–10 Syllabus (NESA 2022).

Many schools will have their own scope and sequence templates. This sample provides a brief overview of each teaching and learning program, the questions guiding the implementation of the outcomes, the outcomes and content groups driving the design of assessment and the text requirements.

The samples are designed to be flexible and able to be adapted and refined by teachers as they plan for student learning needs. Content groups are identified at the point of introduction to the students and should be revisited and consolidated throughout the year, based on assessment data. Some content groups or points will require more emphasis and repetition than others. This document details when specific outcomes and content groups could be introduced.

The new Syllabus is to be taught in Years 3 to 10 from 2024.

Detailed implementation information including key features and resources is available on the Syllabus development page (NESA).


English K–10 Syllabus (2022) © NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) for and on behalf of the Crown in right of the State of New South Wales, 2024.


  • Stage 5

Business Unit:

  • Curriculum and Reform
Return to top of page Back to top