Photography, video and digital imaging 11–12

In the content endorsed course of photography, video and digital imaging (PVDI), students use frames to learn about photography, its development and history.

Sample scope and sequence

The sample HSC scope and sequence document provides teachers with an overview for programming and assessment in photography, video and digital imaging.

HSC photography, video and digital imaging – scope and sequence sample (DOCX 83 KB)

Sample assessment schedule and assessment tasks

The samples below have been provided to assist in planning for and assessing Stage 6 photography, video and digital imaging.

Assessment schedule (DOCX 49.6 KB)

These sample assessments are part of the appropriating Hockney program

Teaching and learning resources

The HSC photography unit ‘Appropriating Hockney’ provides students with opportunities to investigate the practice of David Hockney and incorporate his compositional decisions and concepts into their own digital photographic practice. It is informed by a critical and historical study of photographic artists that link to the units theme. The unit addresses the NSW stage 6 photography, video and digital imaging (PVDI) syllabus module DI5: The arranged image. It encourages students to use a variety of digital techniques in their art /photographic making practice and develops students’ knowledge and understanding of photography in their critical and historical accounts.

This unit can be used as one of the three modules taught in year 12 PVDI. Provided is the HSC photography program, yearly assessment schedule, scope and sequence, practical assessment task and stage 6 visual arts life skills modified assessment tasks for practical work.



The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) Photography, Video and Digital Imaging Stage 6 Syllabus (2000) contains the syllabus and helpful materials including a sample assessment schedule, HSC advice, specimen exams, HSC marking guidelines, standards materials, past papers additional support information.


  • Teaching and learning

Business Unit:

  • Educational Standards
Return to top of page Back to top