Western Sydney and Blue Mountains Region

The NSW Training Awards are celebrated throughout the state by 9 regional programs. View other regions.

2024 Western Sydney and Blue Mountains Training Awards Winners

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year

Tataya Curry-Jones
Qualification: Certificate III in Business
Trained by: Catholic Education Diocese of Parramatta
Employed by: Kimberwalli
School: St John Paul II Catholic College

Apprentice of the Year

Samer Rawas
Qualification: Certificate III in Electrotechnology Electrician
Trained by: TAFE NSW
Employed by: Endeavour Energy

School Based Apprentice/Trainee of the Year

Xavier Shepherd
Qualification: Certificate III in Retail
School: St Columba's Catholic College
Trained by: McDonald's Australia Ltd
Employed by: McDonald's

Trainee of the Year

Isabella Bruce
Qualification: Certificate III in Information Technology
Trained by: Australian College of Commerce & Management
Employed by: MIGAS Apprentices & Trainees
Hosted by: Jaybro Group

VET in Schools Student of the Year

Sharnie Clinch
Qualification: Certificate III in Health Services Assistance
School: St John Paul II Catholic College
Trained by: NSW Health RTO

VET Trainer/Teacher of the Year

Alice Clarke
Field of Study: Digital Literacy
Employed by: BSI Learning

Vocational Student of the Year

Kenneth George
Qualification: Certificate IV in Cyber Security
Trained by: TAFE NSW

About the Committee

The Western Sydney Vocational Training Committee Inc.(WSVTC) is an association consisting of VET industry representatives including employers, government, education and Registered Training Organisations, with a common aim to promote apprenticeships and traineeships. Our aim is to enhance the standard of vocational skills in the Western Sydney region.

The WSVTC actively encourages the employment and training of apprentices and trainees amongst employers, both large and small. The Committee promotes vocational education to school leavers so they may consider taking up one of a multitude of apprenticeships and traineeships which are offered in a broad range of businesses.

Postcodes covered by this region include:

  • 2038-2041
  • 2045-2047
  • 2115-2118
  • 2123-2125
  • 2127-2128
  • 2137-2140
  • 2142
  • 2144-2158
  • 2160
  • 2745-2751
  • 2753-2786

Check your region by postcode.

Committee members

NAME Role Organisation
Chad Burns Secretary NSW Training Services
Chelsea Taylor Committee Member Ambassador
David Kopycinski President Ascend Management
Di Groves Executive Member Astute Training
Edwina Burge Public Officer NSW Training Services
Joshua Holmes Committee Member Programmed
Kate Lovett Vice President H&H Accredited
Kim Barry Committee Member AISNSW
Kim Morrison Committee Member KCA Education
Leon Drury Committee Member Mskills
Maria Mercado Committee Member ARC Group Training
Sandy Causer Committee Member Health NSW
Sameer Pandey Treasurer Capital Careers
Troy Harris Committee Member Ambassador

Our sponsors

The Western Sydney Vocational Training Committee Inc. greatly appreciates the support of its sponsors, without whom the Western Sydney Regional Awards Night would not be the successful event it is.

The committee welcomes the support of new sponsors wanting to become involved in recognising the outstanding vocational and educational achievements in the Western Sydney Region.

To find out more please contact Joshua Holmes on 0405 465 637

Contact details



  • Skills
  • VET


  • VET

Business Unit:

  • Training Services NSW
Return to top of page Back to top