Illawarra & South East NSW Region

The NSW Training Awards are celebrated throughout the state by 9 regional programs. View other regions.

2022 Illawarra & South East NSW Training Awards Winners

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year

Jade Barrington
Qualification: Certificate II in Business
Trained by: The Illawarra ITeC Ltd
Employed by: Department of Education

Apprentice of the Year

Daniel Arroyo
Qualification: Certificate III in Electrotechnology Electrician
Trained by: TAFE NSW
Employed by: Endeavour Energy

School Based Apprentice/Trainee of the Year

Teagan Nicholson
Qualification: Certificate III in Early Childhood Education and Care
School: Narooma High School
Trained by: ECTARC
Employed by: Dalmeny Long Day Child Care Centre

Trainee of the Year

Daria Gann
Qualification: Certificate IV in Accounting and Bookkeeping
Trained by: Australian College of Commerce & Management
Employed by: Australian College of Commerce & Management

VET in Schools Student of the Year

Brendan Cooper
Qualification: Certificate II in Construction Pathways
School: Lumen Christi Catholic College
Trained by: Catholic Education Office Canberra & Goulburn

VET Trainer/Teacher of the Year

Adrian Turley
Employed by: Quality College of Australia

Vocational Student of the Year

Mathew MacGregor
Qualification: Diploma of Project Management
Trained by: Australian College of Commerce & Management

About the committee

The role of the Illawarra & South East NSW Regional Vocational Training Committee (IVTC) is to recognise and promote vocational education and training excellence in our region, particularly through apprenticeships and traineeships. Regional Training Awards are held each year to recognise local achievements.

With the growing importance of vocational training in enhancing the region’s prosperity, the awards play a critical role in our economic landscape by encouraging and celebrating excellence in a broad range of work, community and life skills. Organisations that participate as sponsors in the regional awards are recognised as leading contributors in building a skilled region which, in turn, assists with addressing the national skills shortage.

The Regional Training Awards are organised by the IVTC, which has been active in the region now for more than 50 years. This region covers a large area from Helensburgh in the north, to Eden in the south, and out to Cooma/Monaro, Queanbeyan, Yass, Goulburn and the Southern Highlands.

The IVTC comprises key stakeholders from within the vocational education and training and business arenas.

Each year award winners represent the region at the annual NSW Training Awards in Sydney and may progress to the National Awards.

In 2020 Illawarra and South East Regional NSW were successful in having 3 finalists at the State awards:

  • Apprentice-Joshua Nickl - Retail Baking
  • Trainee -Shayd Flegg - Early Childhood Education & Care
  • SBAT- Cassandra O’Carroll- Conservation & Land Management

Joshua and Cassandra went on to represent the Region at the Australian National Training Awards with Cassandra selected as Runner-up in her category.

Postcodes covered by this region include:

  • 2500-2551
  • 2575-2584
  • 2600-2633
  • 2900-2914

Check your region by postcode.


  • Troy Everett
  • Billy Fox
  • Jem Joyce
  • Chloe Herbert

Committee members

Name Organisation

Darryl Leslie – Chair

Endeavour Energy

Tony Keir – Vice Chair

Apprenticeship Support Australia

Jill Heaton – Treasurer

The Unleashed Collective

Meri Angelkoski – TSNSW Representative

Training Services NSW

Dannelle Robson – Secretary

WEA Illawarra

Kamila Wilk – Public Officer

Training Services NSW

Dot Hennessy – Media Officer

Rotary Club of Wollongong

Megan Thorpe – Marketing Officer


Elizabeth Thomas

UOW College

Stuart Wilkinson


Troy Everett


Amanda Whittall

Apprenticeship Support Australia

Natalie Fernandes - Assistant Secretary / Assistant Treasurer


Fiona Crane

R2Go Transition to Work Program

Rebecca Radic

Illawarra ITeC

Abbey Hartgrove

Department of Education

Pauline Hogg


Marty Burgess

Workplace Learning Illawarra

Allannah Clarke


Karen Ruppert

Catholic Education Office

Kirsty Shee


Our sponsors

Platinum Sponsor

  • ACCM
  • WGE Group
  • MEGT
  • Fulton Hogan

Gold Sponsors

  • Sureway Skills Training
  • Endeavour Energy
  • South32 Illawarra Coal
  • UOW College Australia
  • Catholic Education Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn
  • Apprenticeship Support Australia
  • Catholic Education Archdiocese of Wollongong
  • HVTC
  • 1300apprentice
  • Southern IML Pathology
  • Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy – AusIMM Illawarra Branch
  • Australian College of Higher Studies

Silver Sponsors

  • Kiama & Shoalhaven Community Colleges
  • BlueScope WIN Community Partners
  • National College of Vocational Education
  • The Disability Trust
  • Wollongong City Council
  • IMB Bank
  • Illawarra ITeC

Bronze Sponsor

  • Workplace Learning Illawarra

Regional Community Sponsors

  • WEA Illawarra
  • Rotary Club of Wollongong
  • Flagstaff
  • Stuart Alexander Chocolates

Contact details

For more information about the Illawarra & South East NSW Regional Training Awards, please contact:

Meri Angelkoski
P: 0474 938 904
P.O. Box 469
Wollongong, NSW 2520

Return to top of page Back to top