Riverina/Murray Region

The NSW Training Awards are celebrated throughout the state by 9 regional programs. View other regions.

2021 Riverina/Murray Region Training Awards Winners

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year

Jenna Weymouth
VET Course: Certificate IV in Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Primary Health Care Practice
Trained by: TAFE NSW
Employed by: Murrumbidgee Local Health District

Apprentice of the Year

Joseph Last
VET Course: Certificate III in ESI- Power Systems - Distribution Overhead
Trained by: Essential Energy
Employed by: Essential Energy

School Based Apprentice/Trainee of the Year

Hannah Walker
VET Course: Certificate III in Tourism
Trained by: TAFE NSW
Employed by: Coolamon Shire Council

Trainee of the Year

Charis Inoc
VET Course: Certificate IV in Property Services (Real Estate)
Trained by: Australian College of Professionals Pty Ltd
Employed by: Ray Mack Real Estate

Vocational Student of the Year

Carissa Bellato
VET Course: Diploma of Paramedical Science
Trained by: Australian Paramedical College

VET Trainer/Teacher of the Year

Kim Roberts
VET Course: Agriculture - Pork production
Employed by: Squad Training

About the committee

The Riverina VET Promotional Committee was established as a training awards committee in 1999. The awards started with just the apprenticeship and traineeship categories and now include all student categories. The membership and the role of the committee have grown to now become the Riverina-Murray Vocational Education and Training Committee Inc.

The Committee is comprised of representatives from the key stakeholders within the vocational and education sectors across the region. These Committee members represent: NSW Department of Education, Industry, Registered Training Organisations, Apprenticeship Network Providers, Catholic Schools Office and NSW Department of Education.

The Committee objectives include:

  • To promote Vocational Education & Training (VET) across the Riverina-Murray region
  • To encourage industry support for School Based Apprenticeships and Traineeships
  • To encourage schools across the region to support School Based Apprenticeships and Traineeships
  • To liaise with VET stakeholders to promote VET
  • To showcase the success of VET in the Riverina -Murray region by conducting and promoting the NSW Training Awards.

Postcodes covered by this region include:

  • 2585-2594
  • 2640-2663
  • 2665-2669
  • 2675
  • 2678
  • 2680-2717
  • 2720
  • 2722-2739
  • 2803
  • 2807

Check your region by postcode.

Committee members

Name Organisation

David McDonald

Chairperson, COMPACT

Matt Duffy

Vice Chairperson, Hutcheon & Pearce

Sharee McCormack


Ruth Clark

NSW Department of Education

Michael Edwards

Snowy Hydro (Previous winner)

Garry Whittaker

Department of Education – Training Services NSW (Public Officer)

Ness Barton

Department of Education – Training Services NSW (Treasurer)

Haley Halligan

Department of Education – Training Services NSW (Secretary)

Pippa Maddocks


Alyssa McKenzie

Sureway Employment & Training

Susie Stafford

Murray Mallee Training Co

Contact details

For more information about the Riverina/Murray Regional Training Awards, please contact:
Haley Halligan
M: 0409 775 132

Return to top of page Back to top