Western NSW Region

The NSW Training Awards are celebrated throughout the state by 9 regional programs. View other regions.

2022 Western NSW Region Training Awards Winners

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year

Sophia De Vries
Qualification: Certificate III in Customer Engagement
Trained by: Central Coast Community College
Employed by: HVTC
Hosted by: Service NSW

Apprentice of the Year

Shane Martin
Qualification: Certificate III in Electrotechnology Electrician
Trained by: Skillset Ltd
Employed by: Yancoal’s Moolarben Coal Operations Pty Ltd

School Based Apprentice/Trainee of the Year

Caden Taylor
Qualification: Certificate II in Retail Services
School: St Stanislaus' College
Trained by: Sureway Skills Training Pty Ltd
Employed by: Intersport Bathurst

Trainee of the Year

Emily Reynolds
Qualification: Certificate IV in Business
Trained by: TAFE NSW
Employed by: Cowra Early Childhood Services

VET in Schools Student of the Year

Sam Kiho
Qualification: Certificate II in Kitchen Operations
School: James Sheahan Catholic High School Orange
Trained by: Catholic Education Diocese of Bathurst

VET Trainer/Teacher of the Year

Clint Giddings
Employed by: Public Schools NSW, Wagga Wagga

About the Committee

The Western NSW Skills Development Hub Inc was formed to reward and promote vocational education and training excellence in the Western NSW Region. The Western NSW region covers a large area from Lightening Ridge in the north, to West Wyalong in the south, Lithgow in the east and Broken Hill in the west. The Western NSW Skills Development Hub Inc comprises key stakeholders from within vocational education and training and business arena.

Postcodes covered by this region include:

  • 2386-2387
  • 2671-2672
  • 2721
  • 2787-2800
  • 2804-2806
  • 2808-2880

Check your region by postcode.

Committee members

Name Organisation

Judy Doulman - Chair

Kaye Stevenson - Treasurer

Training Services NSW

Emily Vardanega – Secretary

Training Services NSW

Leanne McKenzie

Training Services NSW

Troy Kelly

Training Services NSW

Emma Murphy

Training Services NSW

Amanda Ferguson


Darren Foster


Sheree Richards


Karen Gerke


Haylie Howarth

Apprenticeship Support Australia

Sophie Burgoyne

2021 Western NSW School Based Apprentice/Trainee of the Year

Justin Mobbs


Contact details

For more information about the Western NSW Regional Training Awards, please contact:
Kaye Stevenson
E: kaye.stevenson@det.nsw.edu.au
M: 0407 320 452

Leanne McKenzie
E: Leanne.Mckenzie2@det.nsw.edu.au
M: 0457 544 370

Return to top of page Back to top