Southern and South Western Sydney Region

The NSW Training Awards are celebrated throughout the state by 9 regional programs. View other regions.

2022 Southern and South Western Sydney Region Training Awards Winners

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year

Juliane Latu
Qualification: Certificate IV in Business Administration
Trained by: Flexible Training Solutions Pty Ltd
Employed by: Transport Service of NSW

Apprentice of the Year

Liam Barber
Qualification: Certificate III in Electrotechnology Electrician
Trained by: TAFE NSW
Employed by: Endeavour Energy

School Based Apprentice/Trainee of the Year

Abigail Nukuri
Qualification: Certificate III in Sports Coaching
School: Holroyd High School
Trained by: Public Schools NSW, Macquarie Park
Employed by: Creating Chances

Trainee of the Year

Taylor Vandijk
Qualification: Certificate III in Conservation and Land Management
Trained by: TAFE NSW
Employed by: HVTC Sydney
Hosted by: Sutherland Shire Council

VET in Schools Student of the Year

Stella Cox
Qualification: Certificate III in Health Services Assistance
School: Strathfield Girls High School
Trained by: NSW Health

VET Trainer/Teacher of the Year

Michael Ha
Employed by: Sydney Catholic Schools

Vocational Student of the Year

Casey Fox
Qualification: Certificate IV in Training and Assessment
Trained by: St George & Sutherland Community College
Employed by: St George & Sutherland Community College

About the Committee

The 2021 S&SWS committee comprises of key stakeholders from within the vocational education and training arena. Committee volunteers are from Training Services NSW and representatives from a range of organisations within the S&SWS catchment including employers, local business groups, training organisations, community and local colleges, Department of Education and TAFE NSW.

Postcodes covered by this region include:

  • 2020
  • 2049
  • 2130-2136
  • 2141
  • 2143
  • 2161-2166
  • 2167-2179
  • 2190-2203
  • 2205-2234
  • 2555-2560
  • 2563-2574
  • 2752

Check your region by postcode.

Committee members

Name Organisation

Frederick Osman – Chair

Boston University

Gary Davenport – Treasurer

Peter Warren

Robert Macmaster

Training Services NSW

Skye Weeks

Training Services NSW

Shadi Faraj

Bingo Industries

Janelle Henson

Sarina Russo

Heather Koorey

Transport NSW

Natalie Gardam


Dean Bain

Department of Education – Schools

Deb Nooyan


Rose Cox

2017 NSW Vet in Schools Student of the Year Winner

Contact details

For more information about the Southern and South Western Sydney Regional Training Awards, please contact: TBA

Return to top of page Back to top