Illawarra & South East NSW Region

The NSW Training Awards are celebrated throughout the state by 9 regional programs. View other regions.

2021 Illawarra & South East NSW Training Awards Winners

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year

Maddison Peisley
VET Course: Certificate III in Business Administration
Trained by: TAFE NSW
Employed by: Southern Youth & Family Services Ltd

Apprentice of the Year

Althea Kruizinga
VET Course: Certificate III in Electrotechnology Electrician
Trained by: TAFE NSW
Employed by: HVTC Pty Ltd
Hosted by: BlueScope Steel Limited

School Based Apprentice/Trainee of the Year

Kade King
VET Course: Certificate II in Animal Studies
Trained by: TAFE NSW
School: Vincentia High School
Employed by: Australian Training Company
Hosted by: Burraga Foundation

Trainee of the Year

Alexia Lara
VET Course: Certificate III in Business Administrationt
Trained by: WEA Illawarra
Employed by: Smart Financial Pty Ltd

VET in Schools Student of the Year

Claire Pettit
VET Course: Certificate II in Agriculture
Trained by: Catholic Education Archdiocese of Canberra & Goulburn
School: Trinity Catholic College

VET Trainer/Teacher of the Year

Robyn Edwards
VET Course: Hospitality & Skills for Work and Vocational Pathways
School: Public Schools NSW – Wagga Wagga

Vocational Student of the Year

William Gasciogne
VET Course: Diploma of Engineering – Technical
Trained by: TAFE NSW
Employed by: Highland Pine Products Pty Ltd

About the committee

The role of the Illawarra & South East NSW Regional Vocational Training Committee (IVTC) is to recognise and promote vocational education and training excellence in our region, particularly through apprenticeships and traineeships. Regional Training Awards are held each year to recognise local achievements.

With the growing importance of vocational training in enhancing the region’s prosperity, the awards play a critical role in our economic landscape by encouraging and celebrating excellence in a broad range of work, community and life skills. Organisations that participate as sponsors in the regional awards are recognised as leading contributors in building a skilled region which, in turn, assists with addressing the national skills shortage.

The Regional Training Awards are organised by the IVTC, which has been active in the region now for more than 50 years. This region covers a large area from Helensburgh in the north, to Eden in the south, and out to Cooma/Monaro, Queanbeyan, Yass, Goulburn and the Southern Highlands.

The IVTC comprises key stakeholders from within the vocational education and training and business arenas.

Each year award winners represent the region at the annual NSW Training Awards in Sydney and may progress to the National Awards.

In 2020 Illawarra and South East Regional NSW were successful in having 3 finalists at the State awards:

  • Apprentice-Joshua Nickl - Retail Baking
  • Trainee -Shayd Flegg - Early Childhood Education & Care
  • SBAT- Cassandra O’Carroll- Conservation & Land Management

Joshua and Cassandra went on to represent the Region at the Australian National Training Awards with Cassandra selected as Runner-up in her category.

Postcodes covered by this region include:

  • 2500-2551
  • 2575-2584
  • 2600-2633
  • 2900-2914

Check your region by postcode.


  • Troy Everett
  • Billy Fox
  • Jem Joyce
  • Chloe Herbert

Committee members

Name Organisation

Darryl Leslie – Chair

Endeavour Energy

Tony Keir – Vice Chair

Apprenticeship Support Australia

Jill Heaton – Treasurer

The Unleashed Collective

Meri Angelkoski – Secretary

Training Services NSW

Dannelle Robson – Assistant Secretary

WEA Illawarra

Kamila Wilk – Public Officer

Training Services NSW

Rachel Piper – TSNSW Representative

Training Services NSW

Dot Hennessy – Media Officer

Rotary Club of Wollongong

Megan Thorpe – Marketing Officer


Elizabeth Thomas

UOW College

Stuart Wilkinson


Troy Everett


Amanda Whittal

Apprenticeship Support Australia

Cathy James

Disability Trust

Natalie Fernandes


Jan Langtry


Fiona Crane

R2Go Transition to Work Program

Monika Gorgieva

Wollongong City Council

Rebecca Radic

Illawarra ITeC

Adam Knight

Department of Education

Pauline Hogg


Marty Burgess

Workplace Learning Illawarra

Allannah Clarke


Karen Ruppert

Catholic Education Office

Kirsty Shee


Nyssa Murray

Yilabara Soultions

Our sponsors

Platinum Sponsor

  • ACCM College
  • WGE Group

Gold Sponsors

  • Endeavour Energy
  • Apprenticeship Support Australia
  • HVTC
  • Australian College of Higher Studies
  • 1300apprentice
  • Southern IML Pathology
  • MEGT
  • IMB Bank
  • Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy- AusIMM Illawarra Branch

Silver Sponsors

  • Wollongong City Council
  • UOW College
  • Illawarra ITeC
  • Sarina Russo Apprenticeships
  • BlueScope WIN Community Partners

Bronze Sponsors

  • Warrigal Employment
  • Kiama & Shoalhaven Community Colleges
  • Fusion Training Services
  • Workplace Learning
  • Gumnut Pattisserie
  • WEA Illawarra
  • Walan Miya

Community Sponsors

  • Rotary Clubs of Illawarra
  • Flagstaff Group

Contact details

For more information about the Illawarra & South East NSW Regional Training Awards, please contact:
Meri Angelkoski
Illawarra Vocational Training Committee
E: /
P: 0474 938 904 or 4240 3700
P.O. Box 469
Wollongong, NSW 2520

Return to top of page Back to top