Accreditation for teachers

All teachers must achieve and maintain Proficient Teacher accreditation with NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) to teach in any NSW public school or preschool. Accreditation demonstrates your commitment to continually developing and strengthening effective practice to enhance student learning.


All teachers require active accreditation with the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) to be employed to teach in a NSW school or early childhood service.

The NSW Teacher Accreditation Manual (the TA Manual) describes the requirements, conditions, and criteria for teacher accreditation.

The requirements for teacher accreditation reflect the NSW Government's commitment to quality teaching in NSW schools and services. This includes ensuring that all students and children are taught by people who are suitable to teach, appropriately qualified, meet the standards for the teaching profession and maintain their currency of knowledge by completing ongoing professional development.

The Department of Education supports teachers at the accreditation stages of Conditional, Provisional, and Proficient Teacher, as well as those seeking voluntary accreditation at Highly Accomplished and Lead Teacher (HALT) by providing resources and guidance specific to each career stage. This includes tailored support by a dedicated team, collaboration with stakeholders, and the provision of updated, relevant information.


  • Teaching and learning


  • Professional development
  • Professional learning
  • Teacher accreditation
  • Teaching
  • performance

Business Unit:

  • People Culture and Capability
Return to top of page Back to top