Use the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers

There are four stages of accreditation you may go through as a teacher: Graduate, Proficient, Highly Accomplished and Lead. These career stages are in line with the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers (the Standards)

The Standards are organised into three domains of teaching:

  • Professional Knowledge
  • Professional Practice
  • Professional Engagement.

Self-reflection on the Graduate Standards

Your supervising teacher will be looking for evidence that you have met the Graduate Standards throughout your placement.

As a pre-service teacher you should reflect on these standards frequently and identify opportunities to develop or expand your proficiency across all three domains. You should discuss the standards with your supervising teacher and seek feedback on areas of strength and areas for improvement.

Discuss your goals and evidence with your supervising teacher so that they can support you in meeting and exceeding the standards.

View the filmed illustrations of the standards in action to find out more.

Visit the Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL) website to learn more about the standards.


  • DoE

Business Unit:

  • School Workforce
Return to top of page Back to top