EAL/D learners

All students who have been identified as EAL/D learners require information about their English language proficiency progress included on their report, including the student’s overall EAL/D Learning Progression phase.

Teachers should include a comment about how they have supported the students’ English language learning.
Reporting English language proficiency to parents: written reports (PDF 2.1 MB) describes a process schools can use to plan for reporting the English language proficiency of their students.

EAL/D status and Aboriginal students

Schools will need to first determine if any Aboriginal students are EAL/D learners. Many NSW Aboriginal students use Aboriginal English as their main home dialect. These students are not LBOTE but they may be ‘dialect’ learners. This means that they may require additional EAL/D support. Other Aboriginal students use Standard Australian English effectively and are not EAL/D learners. Aboriginal students who speak a traditional language as their main home language are likely to be LBOTE and EAL/D. The majority of these students will be from interstate. Schools will need to check and assess these students as they would any other LBOTE students.

Reporting on EAL/D learners EAL/D learning progression phase in secondary schools

An EAL/D student’s overall EAL/D Learning Progression phase only needs to be included once in a student’s report. Whilst the phase only needs to be included once, best practice would be for subject teachers to include a comment about how they have supported their students’ English language learning within their subject area.


  • Teaching and learning


  • All high schools
  • All primary schools
  • Classroom teachers
  • Creative Arts
  • Educational Standards
  • English
  • HSIE
  • Kindergarten
  • Languages
  • Mathematics
  • Principals
  • STEM
  • School executive
  • Science
  • Science and Technology K-6
  • TAS
  • Teaching and learning
  • VET
  • Web page
  • Year 1
  • Year 10
  • Year 11
  • Year 12
  • Year 2
  • Year 3
  • Year 4
  • Year 5
  • Year 6
  • Year 7
  • Year 8
  • Year 9

Business Unit:

  • Educational Standards
Return to top of page Back to top