Skill development in PDHPE (secondary)

This MyPL resource is on demand professional learning that was designed to build staff's knowledge of the new PDHPE K-10 syllabus and its features.

Audience: Stage 4 and 5 teachers and leaders

Duration: 3 hours

Participants will:

  • increase understanding of the PDHPE K-10 syllabus skill domains
  • enhance their ability to select appropriate skills from each domain for PDHPE syllabus content
  • improve their ability to select and use teaching and learning strategies to develop, refine and apply PDHPE skills
  • recognise evidence of learning for the skill domains and specific skills
  • improve their capacity to provide quality learning and teaching opportunities for students.


This course supports teachers and leaders to:

  • unpack the PDHPE skill domains and skills
  • identify suitable skills for development across content
  • create teaching and learning activities and assessment tasks to support skill development.

Link to MyPL

Skill development in 7-10 PDHPE (Online)


This accredited professional learning is connected to the domains:

  • Professional knowledge – Standard 2 – Know the content and how to teach it
    • 2.1.2 Apply knowledge of the content and teaching strategies of the teaching area to develop engaging teaching activities.
  • Professional practice – Standard 3 – Plan for and implement effective teaching and learning
    • 3.3.2 Select and use relevant teaching strategies to develop knowledge, skills, problem solving and critical and creative thinking.


PDHPE K–10 Syllabus (2018) © NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) for and on behalf of the Crown in right of the State of New South Wales

Return to top of page Back to top