Emergency notice

Places available in selective high schools

There are 4226 places available in selective high schools across NSW for entry to Year 7 in 2020.

School nameNumber of places
Alexandria Park Community School +30
Armidale Secondary College30
Auburn Girls High School30
Aurora College (Virtual) #68
Baulkham Hills High School180
Blacktown Boys High School30
Blacktown Girls High School30
Bonnyrigg High School60
Caringbah High School150
Chatswood High School60
Elizabeth Macarthur High School60
Farrer Memorial Agricultural High School (Boarder places)66
Farrer Memorial Agricultural High School (Day places)44
Fort Street High School150
Girraween High School120
Gorokan High School30
Gosford High School180
Grafton High School30
Granville Boys High School30
Hornsby Girls High School120
Hurlstone Agricultural High School (Day places)150
Hurlstone Agricultural High School (Female boarder)15
Hurlstone Agricultural High School (Male boarder)15
James Ruse Agricultural High School120
Karabar High School30
Kooringal High School30
Macquarie Fields High School90
Merewether High School180
Moorebank High School60
Normanhurst Boys High School120
North Sydney Boys High School150
North Sydney Girls High School150
Northern Beaches Secondary  College Manly Campus120
Parramatta High School60
Peel High School30
Penrith High School150
Prairiewood High School60
Rose Bay Secondary College +60
Ryde Secondary College60
Sefton High School88
Smiths Hill High School120
St George Girls High School150
Sydney Boys High School180
Sydney Girls High School150
Sydney Secondary College  Balmain Campus *60
Sydney Secondary College  Leichhardt Campus *60
Sydney Technical High School150
Tempe High School +60
Yanco Agricultural High School (Female boarder)30
Yanco Agricultural High School (Male boarder)30


+ Alexandria Park CS, Tempe HS and Rose Bay Secondary College have targeted places available for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students.

* Sydney Secondary College Balmain and Leichhardt campuses offer places in Years 7-10. Students from these campuses will generally proceed to Sydney Secondary College Blackwattle Bay campus for Years 11 and 12.

# Only students who will be enrolled in Year 7 in government high schools in rural or remote areas (excluding fully and partially selective high schools) may apply for Aurora College, the virtual selective high school. A list of participating schools is available at: https://education.nsw.gov.au/public-schools/selective-high-schools-and-opportunity-classes/year-7/information-for-applicants/aurora-college/rural-and-remote-high-schools

Return to top of page