Record of school achievement (RoSA)

Requirements and eligibility for the RoSA credential in Stage 5 and Stage 6.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) issues the Record of School Achievement (RoSA) to eligible students who leave school before completing the Higher School Certificate (HSC).

The RoSA is a cumulative credential and contains a student’s record of academic achievement up until the date they leave school. This could be at the end of Year 10 or up until and including the end of Year 12.

The RoSA records completed Year 10 and Year 11 courses and grades, and Year 12 HSC results for students not eligible for the HSC. It also records participation in any uncompleted Year 11 or Year 12 courses and the date of leaving school.

RoSA monitoring advice

2024 RoSA monitoring advice provides guidance for schools when developing monitoring procedures for the 2024 Record of School Achievement (RoSA).

2023 RoSA monitoring advice (DOCX 72 KB) – guidance for schools when developing monitoring procedures for the 2023 Record of School Achievement (RoSA).

Further information

If you would like assistance with RoSA monitoring requirements, contact:

Stage 5 Advisor
Jarrad Cox


  • Teaching and learning


  • Educational Standards
  • Principals
  • School executive
  • Teaching and learning
  • Web page
  • Year 10
  • Year 11
  • Year 12

Business Unit:

  • Educational Standards
Return to top of page Back to top