Eligibility criteria

To be eligible to apply for a teach.Rural Scholarship, you must:

  1. Be an Australian citizen or permanent resident.
  2. Be completing the HSC in a NSW or ACT secondary school or TAFE NSW institute in 2021 and intend on enrolling in teacher education studies at a recognised Australian university or tertiary institution.*
    Be a current university student completing your initial course of teacher training no earlier than the end of 2022.*
  3. Be willing to accept an appointment as a permanent full-time teacher to a NSW public
    school in a rural or remote location** on completion of your studies for a minimum period of three years.

* Your studies will need to meet the department's and NESA’s academic requirements for employment as a primary or secondary school teacher.

** The rural and remote locations under the teach.Rural Scholarship Program are: Albury, Armidale, Bathurst, Bourke, Broken Hill, Deniliquin, Dubbo, Griffith, Moree, Orange, Tamworth and Wagga Wagga.

Return to top of page Back to top