Top teachers awarded Premier's scholarships

Twelve NSW Department of Education educators have received a Premier’s Teacher Scholarship.

A group of people standing in front of a banner. A group of people standing in front of a banner.
Image: Premier Chris Minns and Deputy Premier Prue Car with recipients and sponsors of the 2024 Premier's Teachers Scholarships. Photo: Benjamin Townsend Commercial Photography.

NSW Department of Education Secretary Murat Dizdar has praised recipients of the 2024 Premier’s Teacher Scholarship as outstanding educators who are transforming the lives of students.

Twelve of the 13 recipients work in the NSW public education system.

Scholarship recipients each received between $10,000 and $15,000 for a five-week study tour.

The scholarship program is open to all NSW teachers from government and non-government schools and preschools, as well as teachers at TAFE NSW institutes.

Mr Dizdar said the scholarships provided an excellent opportunity for teachers to collaborate with other world-class educators and expand their own knowledge and expertise.

“I’m proud of our public educators in NSW who do incredible work with our students to help them grow,” Mr Dizdar said.

“These scholarships are a great opportunity for our outstanding educators to continue to develop their skills and achieve the best learning outcomes for our students.”

The full list of scholarships and 2024 recipients is as follows:

Premier’s Anika Foundation Youth Depression Awareness Scholarships
  • Sophie Limbert, Forbes Public School

  • Penny Evans, Finigan School of Distance Education

Premier’s Creativity Across the Curriculum Scholarship
  • Stella Ding, The Ponds High School

Premier’s Early Childhood Education Scholarship
  • Alexander Sutherland, Hamilton Child Care Centre

Premier’s Hicksons Lawyers STEM Scholarship
  • Tony Tang, Lindfield Learning Village

Premier’s History Teachers Association History Scholarships
  • Simone Etcell, Campbelltown Performing Arts High School

  • Peter Hartman, Cherrybrook Technology High School

Premier’s NESA Quality Teaching Scholarship
  • Jessica Sarmento, Newcastle High School

Premier’s Teachers Mutual Bank Aboriginal Education Scholarship
  • Sally McGrath, Berkeley Vale Public School

Premier’s University of NSW Rural and Remote Education Scholarship
  • Lesley Lamb, Timbumburi Public School

Premier’s University of Sydney Mathematics Scholarship
  • Jessica Francis, West Ryde Public School

Premier’s Vocational Education Scholarships
  • Holly Cohen, Woonona High School

  • Karen Norris, Campbelltown Performing Arts High School

The Premier’s Teacher Scholarship recipients were presented at a gala reception at The Mint in Sydney on Tuesday 17 October.

The 2024 corporate sponsors for the scholarships included the Anika Foundation, Hicksons Lawyers, History Teachers Association of New South Wales, NSW Education Standards Authority, Reserve Bank of Australia, Teachers Mutual Bank, University of New South Wales (School of Education) and University of Sydney (Faculty of Science).

More information on each scholarship is available at

  • News
Return to top of page Back to top