Since World War II

Since World War II the process of consolidation has markedly reduced the number of schools in NSW.

In 1974 the Australian Capital Territory Schools Authority assumed full responsibility for nearly 60 government schools that were previously under the control of NSW. Greater urbanisation and improvements in roads and transport have been key factors in the consolidation of schools.

The one-teacher school in the bush, which began the government school system of education in 1848 and predominated for over a century, is no longer typical. This system has been overtaken by the growth of the large staffed school, in both primary and secondary schools.


  • Historical
  • School operations

Business Unit:

  • Centre for Education Statistics and Evaluation
Return to top of page Back to top