TAFE NSW Teacher to be appointed to Advisory Board

Skills Minister Tim Crakanthorp will appoint a TAFE teacher to the TAFE Commission Board to help resolve the skills crisis.

NSW Government Logo NSW Government Logo

Minister for Skills, TAFE and Tertiary Education Tim Crakanthorp today announced his first appointment to the TAFE Commission Board will be a TAFE NSW teacher.

The keystone advisory body helps guide the direction of TAFE NSW through reviews and recommendations to the Minister on TAFE NSW services, policies related to services, and operations.

“The skills crisis in NSW means there’s never been a more important time to rebuild a strong and sustainable TAFE NSW. That starts with hearing directly from teachers,” Mr Crakanthorp said.

“I want to ensure TAFE NSW benefits from advisors who are at the coalface of the critical work the public training provider does - helping individuals, businesses, and communities to thrive.

“We are restoring TAFE to the heart of vocational education by restoring teachers to the heart of TAFE.”

The new appointment to the TAFE Commission Board will be managed by the TAFE NSW and the Department of Education. It will be the first time a teacher has been on the board since at least 2015.

The TAFE NSW Commission board members are:

  • Danny O’Connor (Chair) - Former Chief Executive of Western Sydney Local Health District
  • Stephen Brady - TAFE NSW Managing Director
  • Katrina Troughton - Managing Director IBM Australia and New Zealand
  • Isaiah Dawe - CEO of ID. Know Yourself and former TAFE NSW graduate
  • Geoffrey Newcombe – Former CEO of Association of Independent Schools
  • Jessie Borthwick – Former Nous Group Principal
  • Media releases
Return to top of page Back to top