New appointments to the TAFE Commission Advisory Board

Five new faces have joined the TAFE NSW board.

The NSW Government logo overlaying a photo of an empty classroom. The NSW Government logo overlaying a photo of an empty classroom.

Minister for Skills, TAFE and Tertiary Education, Steve Whan welcomed five new faces to the TAFE Commission Advisory Board at last night’s inaugural Parliamentary Friends of TAFE event, held at NSW Parliament House.

After more than a decade of neglect by the former government, the NSW Government is committed to restoring TAFE to the heart of vocational education in NSW. This includes prioritising new board appointments, which were left vacant by the previous government.

The government has been working hard to select the right people to the board and in August 2023, for the first time in at least eight years, a TAFE NSW teacher, Mr Stuart McKinder was appointed to the board. This appointment reflects a commitment to engage with educators and recognises their invaluable role in shaping the future of TAFE NSW.

The five new appointees join nine existing board members led by Chair Mr Danny O’Connor. Members include Mr Stuart McKinder, Ms Alison Miriams, Ms Katrina Troughton, Mr Isaiah Dawe, Mr Adam Liaw, Dr Geoff Newcombe, Mr Murat Dizdar, Secretary, NSW Department of Education and Mr Stephen Brady, Managing Director TAFE NSW.

The appointees bring a wealth of industry, education, and community service experience that will help deliver a strong, sustainable TAFE NSW.

  • Megan Callinan is the Pro Chancellor (Western Region NSW) at Charles Sturt University and the CEO of Marathon Health. She brings extensive experience in community capacity building with a focus on education and training.
  • Kurt Fearnley AO is a professional wheelchair racer, school teacher, and ambassador with a background in improving equity outcomes for people with disabilities.
  • Eva Hanly is President of Asia Pacific Fortescue and brings expertise in policy reform, innovation and technology, and new energy ventures.
  • Mary Ann O’Loughlin OAM is a Senior Policy Strategist at the University of Technology Sydney and has extensive experience in major strategic policy reforms, including in the education and skills sector.
  • Joseph La Posta is the CEO of Multicultural NSW and brings experience in improving access and services for multicultural communities. Mr La Posta has been appointed to the Board on an interim basis.

The board is an advisory body that makes recommendations to the Minister on TAFE NSW services, priorities and operations.

The skills shortage in NSW underscores the critical need to revitalise a robust and enduring TAFE NSW. This begins by actively engaging with the right people, including educators to gain valuable insights.

NSW Minister for Skills, TAFE and Tertiary Education, Steve Whan, said:

“The NSW Government is committed to ensuring the TAFE Commission Advisory Board has the right mix of skills and experience to fulfill its important advisory functions.

“A board with such diverse experience is essential for positioning TAFE NSW at the forefront of the state’s vocational education and training system.

“I look forward to hearing the board's perspective on ways in which TAFE NSW can foster effective industry and community partnerships aligned with the state’s skills priorities.”

  • Ministerial media releases
  • News
  • Skills champions
Return to top of page Back to top