Years 7-10

In Years 7 to 10 there are flexible learning models and some new subject choices available to students.

Most students with disability and additional learning and support needs follow the standard Years 7 to 10 curriculum set by the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA).

The standard curriculum covers the key learning areas of English, Mathematics, Science, Creative Arts, Human Society and the Environment and Languages. Students also have the opportunity to make choices based on their interests from a range of subjects available at their school.

For some students making adjustments to the standard curriculum will meet their personalised learning and support needs. Adjustments can be made to the content of all subjects studied across Years 7 to 10 and to the learning outcomes expected of the student according to their individual needs.

Life Skills curriculum outcomes and content are available for all Years 7 to 10 syllabuses set by NESA. Where regular curriculum outcomes with adjustments are not appropriate, students can choose a combination of regular and/or Life Skills outcomes and content. Most students who undertake Life Skills outcomes and content will have an intellectual disability.

The strengths, goals, interests and support needs of individual students are important considerations. The collaborative curriculum planning process helps students, their parents or carers, and the school learning and support team to work together to meet a student's learning and support needs.


Australian high school students participate in the National Assessment Program - Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLAN) in Years 7 and 9. NAPLAN testing covers reading, writing, spelling, grammar and punctuation, and numeracy. NAPLAN measures the progress of all students and their relative levels of knowledge in key learning areas.

The school principal or school learning and support team can provide advice about NAPLAN including participation, adjustments and exemptions.

Learn about NAPLAN adjustments for students with disability and examples of how they may be applied.

Curriculum policy

NSW public schools provide all students with an education within the guidelines of the curriculum planning and programming, assessing and reporting to parents K-12 policy.

Workplace learning

Workplace learning, including work experience and structured work place learning helps to extend and enrich learning in the classroom and can start in Year 9.

VET courses

Vocational education and training (VET) courses give students work related skills in a variety of industry areas and can start in Year 9.


  • Teaching and learning


  • Access and equity
  • Disability
  • Diversity and inclusion
  • Transition through stages

Business Unit:

  • Inclusion and Wellbeing
Return to top of page Back to top