Stages 4 and 5

In Stages 4 and 5, the study of science is mandatory. The Science Years 7-10 Syllabus (2018) emphasises inquiry-based learning. Students explore the physical world, earth and space, living world, and chemical world embedding the working scientifically skills of:

  • questioning and predicting
  • planning investigations
  • conducting investigations
  • processing and analysing data and information
  • problem-solving
  • communicating.

Through this, the syllabus aims to develop students' scientific literacy, as well as an appreciation and engagement in science and its impacts on society. The programming page has additional information to assist with your planning, including detailed information and resources for teaching the skills of working scientifically including the student research project.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) Science Years 7-10 Syllabus (2018) page contains useful information for the teaching of Stages 4 and 5 science.

For additional support contact an advisor on the further information pages.

Return to top of page Back to top