About the Lunar New Year

The Lunar Calendar

The Lunar New Year 4717 will be celebrated on 5 February 2019. It celebrates Xin Nian, the Chinese New Year, Solnal, the Korean New Year, Tết, the Vietnamese New Year and also Losar, the New Year celebrations for Tibet, Nepal and Bhutan.

This date is based on the traditional Chinese Agricultural Calendar. The calendar is lunisolar (primarily lunar and partially solar) guided by the movement of the moon as well as the sun and commonly called the lunar calendar.

The Chinese lunar calendar is associated with the Chinese zodiac, which has 12 animal signs: rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, goat, monkey, rooster, dog, and pig. Each animal represents a year in a 12 year cycle, beginning on Lunar New Year's Day. There are many legends concerning the choice and order of the animals and their characteristics which are said to be imparted to people born in their year.

Year of the Pig and the Echidna

2019 is the Year of the Pig.

The Australian Chinese Zodiac was developed to promote understanding between Chinese and Australian cultures by the Chinese Precinct Chamber of Commerce in Australia. Animals from the traditional zodiac have been matched to native animals according to their perceived similar characteristics. This year the Pig is matched to the Echidna.


Pigs are chivalrous and gallant. Whatever they do, they do it with all their strength. They have tremendous fortitude and great honesty.


Equally, echidnas are also chivalrous and gallant. They can be quick tempered and have tremendous fortitude.

How schools can be involved

Return to top of page