Using the progressions with PLAN2 - primary schools

Purpose

This professional learning is designed to assist teachers/school leaders in understanding how the National Literacy and Numeracy Learning Progressions and PLAN2 can support teachers to identify student learning needs and differentiate teaching in all key learning areas.

Who should participate?

K-6 teachers and leaders.

Mode of delivery

Face-to-face, one full day.

Content

Session 1: Examine how the progressions support quality assessment that informs the teaching and learning cycle in the delivery of NSW syllabuses. Explore the use of the progressions and PLAN2 in formative assessment.

Session 2: Examine how the progressions amplify the literacy and numeracy knowledge, skills and understanding in syllabus outcomes.

Session 3: Experience a guided demonstration of the PLAN2 software using student samples. Engage with using PLAN2 to record the demonstrable behaviours from student work samples and understand the features and use of PLAN2 software to record evidence of literacy and numeracy progress to plan subsequent teaching and learning.

Session 4: Examine how to analyse information in PLAN2 and consider the use in supporting the learning needs of students in syllabus planning and programming across all key learning areas.

Session 5: Work in school teams to develop an implementation model for the use of the progressions and PLAN2 to meet the specific needs of your school contexts and support progress using the School Excellence Framework.

Dates and Locations

Metropolitan North

Location Date
TBA TBA

For enquiries about local events, contact Michael Myerscough
Michael.Myerscough@det.nsw.edu.au

Metropolitan South

Location Date
TBA TBA

For enquiries about local events, contact Sherrie Meyers
Sherrie.Meyers@det.nsw.edu.au

Regional North

Location Date
Maitland Education Office 17 March

For enquiries about local events, contact Vicki York
vicki.york@det.nsw.edu.au

or Christine Reilly
Christine.Glennhed@det.nsw.edu.au

Regional South

Location Date
Tuggerah Education Office 5 May

For more information, contact Giselle Coltman
Giselle.Coltman@det.nsw.edu.au

Rural North

Location Date
TBA TBA

For enquiries about local events, contact Jill Dutton
Jillian.Dutton@det.nsw.edu.au

or Lynne-Maree Hugginson
lynne-maree.hugginson@det.nsw.edu.au

Rural South and West

Location Date
Canowindra High School 3 March
Bathurst South Public School 10 March
Albury - Glenroy Public School 11 March
Bourke High School 11 March
Narrandera Public School TBA

For enquiries about local events, contact Kerrie Vogele (South)
Kerrie.Vogele@det.nsw.edu.au

or Leone Dewhurst (West)
Leone.Dewhurst@det.nsw.edu.au

Register for 'Using the progressions with PLAN2' via MyPL (Course code RG19043)

If you experience any difficulties with the registration process, please contact literacy.numeracy@det.nsw.edu.au

NESA Registered Professional Development

Completing 'Using the progressions with PLAN2' will contribute 5 hours of NESA Registered PD addressing 2.5.2, 6.2.2 and 6.4.2 from the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers towards maintaining Proficient Teacher Accreditation in NSW.

Return to top of page Back to top