Numeracy continuum

The NSW numeracy continuum K–10 outlines a progression of learning in numeracy development of increasing sophistication.

From 2018, the national literacy and numeracy learning progressions will be phased in to replace the existing literacy and numeracy continuums.

The numeracy continuum outlines the development of key concepts in seven aspects:

  • counting sequences
  • early arithmetical strategies
  • pattern and number structure
  • place value
  • multiplication and division
  • fraction units
  • unit structure of length, area and volume.
Return to top of page