In 2017, NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) released a new K-10 syllabus for Japanese. This is for implementation in 2019 (with Years 7 and 9) and 2020 (with Years 8 and 10).

The sample scope and sequence and sample assessment schedule on this page support the 2003 Japanese K-10 syllabus.

Sample scope and sequence

Sample assessment schedule

The Languages and Culture team is currently developing resources to support all new K-10 language syllabuses – these will be published in 2019.

NESA has released sample materials to support the implementation of the Japanese K-10 syllabus 2017.

Sample scope and sequence (NESA)

Sample units of work (NESA)

Sample assessments (NESA)

Interactive resources

  • Go Nihongo! for Stages 3 to 6 – a series of videos with supporting activities.
  • Waking up in Japan embeds online collaboration tools and 21st century learning skills to support students studying Stage 4 or 5.
Return to top of page