Stages 4 and 5

The study of 100 hours of one language over one continuous 12-month period is mandatory between Years 7–10, but preferably in Years 7–8 (Stage 4).

Students may also elect a language course in Stage 5.

In Stage 5, students extend their ability to communicate and strengthen their understanding of the nature of language, culture and the processes of communication.

K–10 language syllabuses and support documentation are available from the NSW Education Standards Authority K-10 Languages page.


The sample planning pro forma (DOC 57KB) can be used to plan a languages unit of work for any stage of learning K–10.

NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) also has advice on planning units of learning.

A range of sample units has been developed to support schools in programming the Languages K-10 syllabuses.

Learning across the curriculum

Information and communication technology capability

A curation of digital tools for students and teachers, to enhance language learning (DOCX 821KB).


Sample tasks

Return to top of page