Schools lifecycle support

In 2018 the NSW Government committed to investing $6.7 billion over four years to deliver 190 new and upgraded schools. The goal is to support increased population growth in NSW communities and ensure students have access to high-quality education facilities.

The NSW Department of Education is supporting the delivery of this commitment by:

  • reducing the administrative burden on school leaders and Directors, Educational Leadership so that they can focus on leading, teaching, and learning
  • packaging and pre-provisioning readiness support services to affected schools.

There are 12 school lifecycle changes that a NSW public school may undergo. The change definitions below clearly identify which change a school is undergoing and provide support and services relevant to the change.

School lifecycle changes

New construction to house one newly operating school.

Example: Kellyville North Public School was completed 2019

Additional infrastructure for one operating school to accommodate increased enrolment capacity

Example: Riverbank Public School received additional learning spaces and refurbished facilities in 2020

Important note: All schools will experience “enrolment fluctuations” (ie. increased or decreased enrolments in a particular year) from time to time. These changes are addressed via BAU policy and procedures.

One operating school (in its entirety) moves to a new location


Rowland Hassall School was moved from Parramatta to Old Guildford in 2017

Arthur Phillip High School was moved across the road in Parramatta CBD in 2019

One operating school is split into two separate operating schools


Example: Riverstone Public School (A) had some of its support classes split into the standalone SSP Norree School (B) in 2020

Two operating schools combine

Merge 1: A + B = A

Example: Bega Public School (A) and Bega West Public School (B) merged to form Bega Valley Public School (using school code for A) in 2012.

Merge 2: A + B = C

Example: Griffith High School (A) and Wade High School (B) merged to become Murrumbidgee Regional High School (C) in 2019.

Additional infrastructure for one operating school that does not increase enrolment capacity (including natural disasters, vandalism) 


Mount Annan High School refurbishment in 2003 provided a new library building

Bobin Public School was refurbished in early 2020 after damage from bushfire

Scope of teaching and learning changes 


Russell Lea Infants School (K-2) was reclassified to Russell Lea Public School (K-6) and renamed accordingly

Quandialla Central School (K-12) was reclassified to Quandialla Public School (K-6) and renamed accordingly

School returns to full operation after Recess

Example: Pooncarrie Public School in 2019

Rename school 

Example: Tolland Public School renamed Red Hill Public School in 2017

Change of street address (often facilitates deliveries or access)

Example: Sarah Redfern High School

School is no longer fully operational but the option remains to Recommence

Example: Oxley Island Public School in 2018

School closed and will never Recommence; Site disposed of

Example: Badgerys Creek Public School closed in 2014

Protocols for school closures, recess or amalgamation

Local consultation with parents, staff and the community guides decisions about any school closures, recess or amalgamation. For more information, read the protocols.

Return to top of page Back to top