Learning at primary school

Find out what your child will learn in primary school.

Image: Your child will learn subjects and skills based on the NSW primary school curriculum.


Most time in Kindergarten is spent developing children’s literacy and numeracy skills.

There are six key learning areas studied throughout primary school:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science and technology.

You can find more information about what your child will study on the NSW Education Standards Authority website.

Best Start

Learn more about the Best Start Kindergarten Assessment, which is focused on Literacy and Numeracy and conducted in the first five weeks of school.

High potential and gifted

High potential and gifted students are those whose potential is more advanced compared to their peers in one or more domains: intellectual, creative, social-emotional or physical.

Opportunities exist in all NSW public schools for high potential and gifted children including opportunity classes. Contact your school for more information.


Years 3, 5, 7 and 9 students in Australian schools sit the National Assessment Program – Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLAN).

NAPLAN is held in May and involves 4 different tests:

  • language conventions (spelling, punctuation and grammar)
  • writing
  • reading
  • numeracy.

They are neither English nor maths tests. Rather, NAPLAN assesses students’ general literacy and numeracy skills, which are required in all subject areas. Texts used in NAPLAN come from a variety of key learning areas.

Students with disability or additional learning and support needs may qualify for some adjustments or disability test provisions. Contact your school to discuss further.

Return to top of page Back to top