Emergency notice


Search within Inside the department1

News item

Excellence and service recognised in public education across NSW

Ninety-one individuals and schools from across NSW have been acknowledged for their outstanding achievement and service to public education in today’s Minister’s and Secretary’s Awards.

The awards recognise those who have made major contributions as role models to their peers, their schools and school communities, celebrating excellence within the State’s public education system.

The Secretary of the Department of Education, Mark Scott, said the range of achievement within public schools reflected in the awards was a source of great optimism for the future of the system.

“Whether it is students’ academic excellence preparing them for jobs of the future, teachers’ innovation in guiding and supporting them, support staff or whole-school and community efforts helping our schools be their very best – everyone is helping to lay solid foundations for our future society,” Mr Scott said.

The Minster’s Award for Excellence in Student Achievement considers achievement in the academic, sporting, cultural and leadership fields, commitment to the school community and personal values. The Minister’s Award for Excellence in Teaching considers professional knowledge, practice and engagement.

There are two individual Secretary’s Award categories: the Secretary’s Award for Excellent Service (open to department staff), and the Secretary’s Parent of the Year Award, and two open to schools, the Secretary’s Award for Outstanding School Initiative and the Secretary’s School Achievement Award.

The department acknowledges the Institute of Public Administration NSW for sponsoring the Awards, which are administered by the Public Education Foundation.

The Foundation’s Executive Director David Hetherington said the Foundation was delighted to work with the department in acknowledging the achievements of students, education staff and parents.

“These Awards celebrate the many extraordinary achievements and initiatives in public schools across the State,” Mr Hetherington said.

A full list of recipients is available on the Public Education Foundation website.

Share this

Related content

Return to top of page