24 new and upgraded schools open

Term 1 2020 will see the largest investment made in public school infrastructure across NSW, with 7 new and 17 upgraded schools opening their doors in Term 1.

Premier Gladys Berejiklian and Minister for Education and Early Childhood Learning Sarah Mitchell visited students at Gledswood Hills Public School, Preston Public School, Epping Public School and Parramatta Public School.

Ms Berejiklian said the new and upgraded schools will benefit more than 20,000 students across NSW.

"It is set to be another big year for public schools with 24 new and upgraded schools opening this term," Ms Berejiklian said.

"The state of the art schools include new classrooms, performance studios, sports facilities, outdoor learning areas, halls and libraries to ensure students are receiving the best education."

The NSW Government is investing $6.7 billion over four years to deliver more than 190 new and upgraded schools to support communities across NSW. This is the largest investment in public education infrastructure in the history of NSW.

Ms Mitchell said the new and upgraded schools were part of the NSW Government?s commitment to education and ensuring that Australia?s largest education system is world class.

"Schools in both regional and metro NSW are benefitting from this historic $6.7 billion investment in school infrastructure," Ms Mitchell said.

"These 24 new and upgraded schools represent a $974 million investment in our children's education for generations to come.

"Along with our fantastic teachers and staff, these new buildings will be an asset to children who learn in them."

New and upgraded schools opening in Term 1 across NSW:

Day 1 Term 1

  • Arthur Phillip High School
  • Parramatta Public School
  • Ashbury Public School
  • Byron Bay Public School
  • Carlingford Public School, Stage 1
  • Epping Public School, Stage 1
  • Gledswood Hills Public School
  • Greenwich Public School ? Greenwich Road campus relocation
  • Gwynneville Public School
  • Newcastle East Public School
  • Oran Park High School
  • Prestons Public School
  • Riverbank Public School
  • Smalls Road Public School
  • Wamberal Public School
  • Willoughby Girls High School
  • Yagoona Public School (SSP)

During Term 1

  • Inner Sydney High School, Stage 1
  • Pendle Hill Public School
  • Queanbeyan High School
  • Ultimo Public School
  • Excelsior Public School
  • Willoughby Public School
  • Wauchope Public School
  • Media releases
Return to top of page Back to top