Emergency notice


Search within Inside the department1

News item

Taskforce gives regional youth direct line to government

The members of the inaugural New South Wales Regional Youth Taskforce have been announced.

A group of young adults, Minister Taylor and Deputy Premier Barilaro standing on some steps.

Minister for Regional Youth Bronnie Taylor and Deputy Premier John Barilaro with the Regional Youth Taskforce.

Eleven students from schools across NSW have been inducted as members of the NSW Government’s inaugural Regional Youth Taskforce that will give regional youth a voice in government.

Minister for Regional Youth Bronnie Taylor welcomed members to their first Regional Youth Taskforce meeting, which provide a forum for them to discuss key issues facing young people in the regions and propose solutions.

“Young people are the experts on youth issues and this is an amazing, diverse group who are united by their desire to have the best chance at a great life in regional NSW,” Mrs Taylor said.

“Regional NSW is a fantastic place to live but there is an imbalance between the opportunities available to young people living in the regions, versus those living in Sydney, Wollongong or Newcastle.

“We don’t want to keep losing regional youth to our big cities and that’s why we have created this Regional Youth Taskforce, giving young people a strong voice that will shape NSW Government policy and service delivery."

Eighteen young people within the 12- to 24-year age group, two from each of NSW’s nine regional zones, were chosen from more than 300 applicants.

“Applications revealed a wide variety of issues important to young people in regional NSW, including mental health and youth suicide, digital connectivity, public transport, recreation facilities, drug use, and employment,” Mrs Taylor said.

Read more at nsw.gov.au/RegionalYouthTaskforce.

The school students on the taskforce are:

  • Josef Graf Cooper – Wyong High School
  • Ashish Thapa – James Sheahan Catholic High School, Orange
  • Maddy Jerrett – Coonamble High School
  • Ben Johnstone – Balranald Central School
  • Nyokia Townsend – Walgett Community College
  • Katherine Sutcliffe – St Joseph’s High School, Aberdeen
  • Caitlin Axelby – Hastings Secondary College, Westport Campus
  • Jan Jaafr – Coffs Harbour High School
  • Luca James – Yanco Agricultural High School
  • Marina Gabra – The Riverina Anglican College, Wagga Wagga
  • Khawlah Albaf – Young High School.

Share this

Related content

Return to top of page