Smiling Santa wins Minister’s Christmas card comp

A design by a Newcastle student has been picked as the winner of this year's Minister's Christmas card competition.

A woman smiling at the camera with a Christmas tree in the background A woman smiling at the camera with a Christmas tree in the background
Image: Season's greeting: Minister for Education and Early Learning Sarah Mitchell signing her specially designed Christmas cards.

A joyful Santa bursting out of a stack of presents has been chosen as the winner of the Minister for Education’s 2022 Christmas Card competition.

Year 6 student Edie Clarke from Merewether Public School will have her design printed on to the Minister’s Christmas Cards, as well as receive a framed copy of her artwork and a package of books and stationery.

This year more than 1,100 students across 90 public schools submitted their drawings in the theme of “All I want for Christmas”.

Minister for Education and Early Learning Sarah Mitchell said seeing all the creative and inspiring drawings that NSW students bring to life from their imaginations was one of her highlights of the school year.

“Christmas is such an exciting time for children and I know a lot of young people in NSW will be getting very excited for Santa to visit them next week,” Ms Mitchell said.

“Edie’s drawing is bright and joyful, and encapsulates that fun spirit of Christmas in a way that I know will bring a smile to the faces of everyone who receives a card, especially after the tough year we've had.”

Merewether Public School Principal Greg Culhane said the school was proud of Edie and that her artwork was chosen as the winner out of more than 1000 students.

“Edie is a wonderful student academically, but she definitely has an artistic flair and we can see that shining through with this recognition,” Mr Culhane said.

Year 5 student Krishiv Bansal from New Lambton Public School was awarded most creative for the clever allusions to iconic artworks in the card design.

Stage and category winners also included Hilda Hartog, Bourke Walgett School of Distance Education; Angelica Ward, Oyster Bay Public School; Elena Babic, Shell Cove Public School; Emily, Gerringong Public School; and DJ Birtles, Waniora Public School.

Pitt Town Public School, and Mary Brooksbank School were selected as school winners for their Christmas spirit.

  • Media releases
Return to top of page Back to top