Search within Inside the department1

News item

Premier’s Teacher Scholarships

Ten of the best public school teachers across NSW were rewarded for their commitment to quality education with a 2017 Premier’s Teacher Scholarship.

NSW public school teachers

Premier’s Teacher Scholarship winners of 2017.

Ten of the best public school teachers across the state were rewarded for their commitment to quality education with a 2017 Premier's Teacher Scholarship at a reception at the State Library of New South Wales on Wednesday 9 August.

The scholarships provide recipients with $10,000-$15,000 in funds for a five-week study tour to some of the world's most highly acclaimed schools and centres for teaching and learning.

Recipients will use the scholarships to study a range of topics, including youth depression, educational outcomes for students with disabilities, financial literacy, health education and harnessing digital technologies for the classroom and the enhancing of professional development.

Open to all NSW teachers from government and non-government schools and preschools, as well as TAFE NSW Institutes, the 2017 program saw 21 scholarships being awarded across 17 program areas.

NSW public education winners

Premier's Anika Foundation Youth Depression Awareness Scholarships

Emma Sue San, Redbank School (Westmead)

Sandra Scott, North Sydney Girls High School

Deborah Costa, Cessnock West Public School

Premier's Australian Association of Special Education NSW Chapter Research To Practice Special Education Scholarship

Monika Bray, Camden High School

Premier's Copyright Agency Creativity Across the Curriculum Scholarship

Alana Lewis, Asquith Girls High School

Premier's English Teachers Association English Scholarship

Paula Madigan, Coffs Harbour High School

Premier's First State Super Financial Literacy Scholarship

Cassandra Portelli, Hunter School of the Performing Arts

Premier's Hicksons Lawyers Health Education and Wellbeing Scholarships

Darren Lang, Kingswood High School

Premier's Leadership Scholarship

Geoffrey Childs, Canobolas Rural Technology School

Premier's Vocational Education Scholarship

Louise Pamment, Teaching and Learning Directorate, Department of Education

Share this

Related content

Return to top of page