Search within Inside the department1

News item

NSW schools win national awards for excellence in education

Three NSW public schools and a principal have been recognised at the inaugural 2018 Australian Education Awards.

Diane Robertson smiling and holding her award.

Diane Robertson at the Australian Education Awards.
Photo courtesy Australian Education Awards.

Hosted by The Educator Australia, the Australian Education Awards recognise outstanding talent in the education sector across Australia.

The NSW winners are:

  • Diane Robertson, Clarke Road School – School Principal of the Year (Government) and Australian Principal of the Year
  • Briar Road Public School – Best Co-Curricular Program
  • Kurri Kurri High School – Innovation in Learning Environment Design
  • Endeavour Sports High School – Secondary School of the Year (Government)

The principal of Clarke Road School, Diane Robertson, was initially awarded Principal of The Year (Government), which placed her in the running for Australian Principal of the Year against winners in the Primary, Secondary, Government and Non-Government classifications.

She took out the overall title for her unmatched ability in the effective leadership and motivation of staff at Clarke Road School, her commitment to professional development and her unrivalled expertise in engaging with parents and the wider school community.

The awards were present at a red carpet event at Cockle Bay Wharf’s Dockside in Sydney on Friday, 17 August 2018.

For more information visit the Australian Education Awards.

Share this

Related content

Return to top of page