More NSW schools to receive cooler classrooms

The Cooler Classroom Program is set to deliver heating, cooling and ventilation to nearly 40 additional schools, with those in the hottest parts of NSW prioritised.

logo with desk logo with desk

The NSW Government is adding an additional 37 schools to the Cooler Classrooms Program, taking the total number to 959 schools across NSW benefitting from this investment.

The program, announced in 2018, is a five-year, $500 million commitment to deliver heating, cooling and fresh air ventilation in NSW public schools. This is the first time there has been a dedicated program to install air-conditioning in schools with those in the hottest parts of the state prioritised.

Minister for Education Sarah Mitchell said the program is ahead of schedule for the existing 922 schools receiving the system, and she was thrilled to add more schools to the program.

“Our focus has been on our existing delivery priorities including 611 schools in the hottest parts of NSW. I am pleased that we are now in a position to include an additional 37 schools in the program, enhancing the learning environments for students and teachers at NSW public schools,” Ms Mitchell said.

“It is the NSW Liberal and National Government that is delivering record funding in school infrastructure and we will continue to invest in our children’s learning facilities.”

“Students right across NSW are benefiting from this program with more than 4,700 classrooms and 330 libraries already completed with more than 10,000 classrooms and 900 libraries now approved for delivery.”

The systems installed as part of the Cooler Classrooms Program incorporate ‘smart systems’ technology that offer heating, cooling, and the provision of outside fresh air. The units will automatically shut-down after hours and will be powered by solar technology and battery storage to off-set energy usage at more than 300 schools.

“These are complex systems with additional work now to deliver a better system in the long run,” Ms Mitchell said.

As part of the program, more than 3,000 gas heaters are being removed from classrooms and learning spaces.

These systems are also installed in all new and upgraded school facilities delivered as part of the major capital works program.

The NSW Government is investing $7.9 billion over the next four years, continuing its program to deliver 215 new and upgraded schools to support communities across NSW. This is the largest investment in public education infrastructure in the history of NSW.

The following 37 schools have been included in the Cooler Classrooms Program:

1. Bathurst West Public School

2. Bellbird Public School

3. Bidwill Public School

4. Blacktown Girls High School

5. Blacktown West Public School

6. Bringelly Public School

7. Chifley College Bidwill Campus

8. Clarence Town Public School

9. Denison College of Secondary Education (Bathurst)

10. Denison College of Secondary Education (Kelso)

11. Dungowan Public School

12. Eglinton Public School

13. Elizabeth Macarthur High School

14. Ellison Public School

15. Hambledon Public School

16. Harrington Park Public School

17. Katoomba High School

18. Luddenham Public School

19. Macksville High School

20. Macksville Public School

21. Millers Forest Public School

22. Minchinbury Public School

23. Modanville Public School

24. Mount Annan High School

25. Mount Kanwary Public School

26. Narellan Public School

27. Plumpton Public School

28. Quakers Hill East Public School

29. Rossmore Public School

30. St Clair High School

31. St Clair Public School

32. The Rivers Sec College Richmond River High Campus

33. The Rivers Secondary College Lismore High Campus

34. Thornton Public School

35. Tuntable Creek Public School

36. Wingham High School

37. Wyrallah Road Public School

  • Media releases
Return to top of page Back to top