Learning progressions in primary

The literacy and numeracy learning progressions will be made available to NSW primary schools from 2018.

What is different?

Some NSW primary schools currently use the literacy and numeracy continuums. From 2018, the learning progressions will be phased in gradually to replace the continuums, providing many benefits for schools, teachers and students. Some of the benefits of the learning progressions are that they:

  • range from Kindergarten to Year 10, meaning that literacy and numeracy are a continued focus after primary school
  • provide greater detail, allowing for easier and more accurate assessment
  • map to the NSW syllabuses and the Australian curriculum in English and maths, demonstrating the development needed to meet stage outcomes
  • describe observable behaviours that could be demonstrated across all curriculum areas, not just English and maths
  • are based on the latest research and evidence on student development in literacy and numeracy
  • do not indicate the amount of time it should take for a student to progress, because this can vary, even within a single classroom
  • will integrate with new software and assessments, making it easier and quicker for teachers to monitor student progress.

The learning progressions support implementation of the curriculum, but do not replace it. They do not describe what to teach, but provide a map of how students become increasingly sophisticated in aspects of literacy and numeracy development.

Implementation in primary schools

The learning progressions are published on the ACARA website. Implementation will be determined by each sector.

In 2018, all K-2 Action Plan schools and some selected case study schools will start using the learning progressions. The learning progressions will replace the literacy and numeracy continuums that have been used in many schools.

For more information

Return to top of page Back to top