1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z
  1. A
    • ACARA

      The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority

  2. B
    • Best Start Kindergarten

      An assessment to help primary teachers identify students’ literacy and numeracy skills on entry to Kindergarten.

    • Best Start Year 7

      A new assessment to help secondary teachers identify students’ literacy and numeracy skills on entry to Year 7.

  3. C
    • Continuums

      A resource describing key steps of literacy and numeracy development. The continuums are being phased out and replaced with the learning progressions.

    • Curriculum 

      A national framework that sets goals for what all students should learn as they progress through school life.

  4. E
  5. H
    • HSC minimum standard

      A reform that requires students to meet a functional level of literacy and numeracy to receive the HSC.

  6. I
    • ITE

      ITE stands for initial teacher education, which includes all programs and education courses designed to equip future teachers.

  7. K
    • K-2 Action Plan

      A cross-sectoral plan to improve literacy and numeracy in Kindergarten to Year 2 through targeted support for disadvantaged schools.

  8. L
    • Learning progressions

      A new resource for teachers that describes the key steps of students’ literacy and numeracy development from Kindergarten to Year 10.

  9. N
    • NESA

      The NSW Education Standard Authority (formerly the Board of Studies Teaching and Educational Standards).

  10. S
    • Syllabus

      NSW syllabuses identify the knowledge, understanding, skills, values and attitudes students are expected to develop at each stage, from K-10

Return to top of page Back to top