ECT accreditation now mandatory

ECT accreditation now mandatory

All early childhood teachers working in approved centre-based services in NSW must now be accredited.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the accreditation of early childhood teachers (ECTs).

This accreditation recognises the professional standing of early childhood teachers alongside NSW school teachers.

You must be accredited if you are employed as an ECT in an approved centre-based service. If you are already an accredited ECT, you have a requirement to maintain your accreditation.

How do I become accredited?

To start the accreditation process, all information is available at the NESA accreditation website. Once you have created an account, log in to complete the 10-step "Apply for Accreditation" process.

For more information

You can find more information on NESA's ECT page about how accreditation works.

Alternatively, you can email NESA's dedicated early childhood team at

A detailed policy document is available for easy reference (PDF 460KB)



Return to top of page Back to top