Universal preschool pilots

The department is currently working with 72 early childhood education organisations across NSW to pilot key features of universal preschool.

Select services in the regions of Mount Druitt, Wagga Wagga, Kempsey-Nambucca, and Bourke-Cobar-Coonamble, as well as 35 Department of Education preschools across the state, are taking part in collaborative workshops, interviews, focus groups and observations. Their input will shape the pilot programs due to begin in July 2023.

The 4 locations were selected using available data to capture the diverse needs of children, families and communities across metropolitan, regional and remote NSW.

List of participating ECEC services:

  • Ambrose Early Learning, Holy Family, Emerton
  • Amy Hurd Early Learning Centre
  • Bourke and District Children's Services
  • Bright Beginnings Learning Centre Glendenning
  • Cobar Mobile Children's Services - Project 2
  • Connie's Childcare Centre (Mt Druitt) - SSLD
  • Crescent Head Pre-School
  • CSU-R Children's Centre
  • Dalaigur Pre-School
  • Giiguy Gamambi
  • Goodstart Ashmont
  • Goodstart Early Learning Estella
  • Goodstart Early Learning Hassell Grove
  • Goodstart Early Learning Kooringal
  • Goodstart Early Learning Learning Wagga Wagga - Station Place
  • Goodstart Early Learning Oakhurst
  • Goodstart Early Learning Plumpton
  • Goodstart Early Learning Tatton
  • Goodstart Early Learning Wagga Wagga - Morgan Street
  • Goodstart Early Learning West Kempsey
  • Goodstart Glenfield Park
  • Goodstart Wagga Wagga Lake Albert Road
  • Kempsey Pre School Long Day Care Centre
  • Kingdom of Angels Childcare Centre
  • Kooringal Child Care Centre
  • KU Ashmont Preschool & Family Centre
  • KU Hebersham Preschool
  • KU Koala Preschool
  • KU Shalvey Preschool
  • Kubby House Childcare Centre
  • Lower Macleay Preschool
  • River Street Early Learning Centre
  • Scribbly Gum Dalai
  • South West Rocks Community Pre School Incorporated
  • St Marks childcare centre Oakhurst
  • Teddy Bears Kindy
  • Yawarra Community & Child Care Centre

For more information, participating services should contact us or phone 1800 619 113.

List of participating Department of Education preschools:

  • Arncliffe West Infants
  • Broken Hill
  • Busby West
  • Canley Heights
  • Casino
  • Coonamble
  • Dawson
  • Dubbo West
  • Harrington Street
  • John Brotchie Nursery School
  • Koonawarra
  • Lalor Park
  • Lansvale
  • Lismore South
  • Liverpool West
  • Lurnea
  • Madang Avenue
  • Manning Gardens
  • Marayong
  • Matraville Soldiers Settlement
  • Mayfield West
  • Mount Druitt
  • Mount Warrigal
  • Orange Grove
  • Oxley Park
  • Sarah Redfern
  • St Johns Park
  • Telarah
  • Tweed Heads South
  • Villawood East
  • Waratah
  • Wellington
  • Whalan
  • Windale
  • Yates Avenue

For more information, department preschools should contact earlylearning@det.nsw.edu.au or phone 1300 083 698.

Pilot guidelines

For more information about the pilots, visit the guidelines webpage.

Return to top of page Back to top