

## Aboriginal Language and Culture Nest Program

Nests provide NSW public school students with the opportunity to learn local Aboriginal Languages and Cultural practices.

An Aboriginal Language and Culture Nest is a network of communities bound together by their connection to an Aboriginal Language.

A Nest Footprint is a designated area in which schools may access Nest funding to teach the relevant Aboriginal Language and Culture. Each school in a Nest area may access up to three hours of funded teaching.

The department currently engages the NSW Aboriginal Education Consultative Group Incorporated (NSW AECG) to provide service delivery and support for the Nests.

The Nests were established in 2013 under OCHRE, the NSW government plan for Aboriginal Affairs. They are part of a broader set of government priorities to revoice and revitalise critically endangered Aboriginal Languages in NSW, governed by the NSW Aboriginal Languages Act 2017, the department's Aboriginal Education Policy and its Partnership Agreement with the NSW AECG.



"Listen, Connect, Collaborate"





## Nests aim to:

- improve knowledge of, and competency in, local Aboriginal Languages
- strengthen Aboriginal identity, pride and community resilience
- increase the number of Language learners
- increase the number of Language teachers
- contribute to increased school attendance, engagement and retention
- support non-Aboriginal students to extend their knowledge of Aboriginal Languages and Cultures.

## Contact us

For more information on Aboriginal Language and Culture Nest programs in NSW public schools, visit our website:

https://education.nsw.gov.au/teaching-and-learning/aec/language-culture-and-communities

If your school would like to know more about Language and Culture teaching under the Nest initiative, please contact us via email:

<u>AboriginalLanguagesAndCulturesCorro@det.nsw.edu.au</u>



## Nest Footprints are located in seven regional Language areas:

- Bundjalung: Ballina, Bonalbo, Casino, Coraki, Evans Head, Grafton, Kyogle, Lismore, Tabulam, Tweed Heads and Woodenbong
- Dunghutti: Kempsey, Bellbrook, South West Rock, Crescent Head and Walcha
- Gamilaraay/Yuwaalaraay/Yuwaalayaay: Collarenebri, Goodooga, Lightning Ridge and Walgett
- Gomeroi: Tamworth, Gunnedah, Werris Creek, Walhallow, and Quirindi
- **Gumbaynggirr:** Bellingen, Coffs Harbour, Dorrigo, Nambucca Valley, Northern Beaches, Orara, Sawtell, South Grafton, Toormina, and Urunga
- North-West Wiradjuri: Dubbo, Gilgandra, Mudgee, Narromine, Peak Hill, Trangie and Wellington
- Paakantji: Bourke, Broken Hill, Coomealla, Menindee, Mildura and Wilcannia.