Links to further information
Other organisations that may supply further information about schools and education in NSW.
School museums are maintained by schools, historical societies and volunteers and are located in city and country locations. Below are a list of names and locations of NSW schoolhouse museums and other collections of historical educational memorabilia.
The Museum of Education is managed by the University of New England Heritage Centre, and is one of the few places you can see a travelling school. The large covered wagon fitted out with a sleeping bunk, a stove for cooking and a blackboard, was both home and school for the teacher.
Millthorpe Public School's 1875 blue stone schoolhouse and teacher's residence is a unique example of local craftsmanship. Situated in the school's gardens, it was used for many years by various principals as a residence.
The Gulgong's Pioneer Museum contains a replica of a late 1880s one teacher classroom, and is widely regarded as one of the finest folk museums in NSW. Contents include a diverse assortment of photos, student work samples and equipment from the many small schools, most long since closed, that once thrived in this gold mining area.
Sydney Boys High School has an extensive collection of memorabilia from the earliest days of the school. Displayed in the wide corridors and in two designated rooms are photographs, sports blazers and old uniforms, trophies and prizes won or donated throughout the years.
Broken Hill district
Silverton's old school house was opened in 1884. Typical of its time it had a very high ceiling to accommodate a galleried classroom, reputedly very hot in summer and very cold in winter. The school closed in 1970 and is now one of a number of heritage buildings that represent what was once a thriving mining town.
Minto Public School's railway carriage museum which provides a unique facility as a period classroom and showcase for the many historical artifacts that have been donated and acquired during the school's 131 years.
The Hay War Memorial High School museum commemorates both Hay and district war service and the life of the school itself in a unique war memorial which has served the Hay community since 1923.
Deniliquin's Peppin Heritage Centre in the old George Street Public School building has a wealth of historical material tracing the history of the area. A feature of the centre is the preserved classroom in the 1879 building which contains historic items from the earliest years of formal education in the district.
The Goulburn Remembrance Library has artifacts and memorabilia of conflicts from the Sudan War to the Vietnam War, some of which are the best collections outside the Australian War Memorial in Canberra.
The Alumy Creek School Museum has been listed as a significant heritage site. The restored weatherboard school and residence, provide an opportunity to step back to school days of the 1930s. Housed in an 1872 school building, the classroom has fixed desks and seats, inkwells and a large display of artifacts and memorabilia from the 1870s onwards.
Relocated to Griffith in 1969, the old Wumbulgal School forms part of the Pioneer Park Museum depicting the unique character of the Murrumbidgee Irrigation Area from past to present.
The Goonoowigall school opened in 1887 and played an important part in the community until it closed in 1966. Donated to Pioneer Village in 1973, the schoolhouse was restored by the Inverell Lions Club and is one of a group of buildings representative of the district's pioneering past.
The former Boonda Subsidised School at the Bingara Museum is filled with classroom memorabilia. Closed in 1969, the building was donated to the Bingara Historical Society who transported it to its present site.
Now part of Arthur Phillip High School, the Old School House Museum was designed in the 1870s by the Council of Education's architect, G A Mansfield. The late Victorian Gothic style building has a number of ornate features including a steeple giving it a church-like appearance. The classroom reflects that of the early 20th century, with dual desks dating from the 1920s and an extensive collection of memorabilia from schools in the Parramatta district.
Toongabbie Public School has two history rooms: the Bicentennial room and the Willmot room which feature murals depicting local history and identities.
The NSW School House Museum is one of the oldest surviving public school buildings in NSW, and is situated in the grounds of North Ryde Public School. It was built in 1877 with additions in 1883 and 1910. The collection contains items such as early exercise books, copy books, certificates, texts and syllabus documents as well as needlework samples and early technologies.
The museum is open for pre-booked school excursions and group tours, and is open to the general public by appointment. It provides access to the collection for people researching school histories and the history of public education. Furniture and selected items are available for loan to public schools celebrating school anniversaries.
Bowral Public School two historic buildings for schoolhouse museums. The oldest building on the site contains a book loft packed with old text books and children's fiction, and photos from the early days of the school. The other School House Museum, a 1920s weatherboard portable, is set up as a classroom from the mid 20th Century.
Calala Cottage 'beehive' school, originally built at nearby Moonbi, was relocated to its present site in 1984 by the Rotary Club of Tamworth West.
The Cundletown Historical Society has a display of educational memorabilia and historical photographs from schools in the Taree and Cundletown areas. There are also historical records of Ghinni Ghinni school and the few remaining records and photos from the burnt out school at Dumaresq Island.
The historical records of the NSW Department of Education are held by the State Records NSW.
The collection includes school historical records such as admissions registers, lesson books, observation books and administration or management records dealing with education in NSW dating from 1807. Also included are photographs, films, committee papers and education reports.The majority of these records are available for public access.
State Records NSW advises that before you visit them you ring to make sure the records you wish to access are available.
Some staff/teacher's career cards and other personal documents are included in the collection but require permission to be accessed. It should be noted, however, that the collection does not include records of students.
The State Records website has links to information on school files, school teachers and other related records.
Soldier-Teacher War Memorials by Tom Spencer gives access to the names of the soldier-teachers, student soldier-teachers and non-teaching departmental staff who served during World War I, World War II and Post World War II. The website also gives the history of the memorials themselves and the names of those involved with their relocation and unveiling. Photos of soldiers and the honour boards are also included.
The State Library of NSW has a family history service which is designed to help people discover information about their ancestors and their histories. The site includes FAQs, research guides and online contact details.